Joanna Lumley to be awarded Bafta Fellowship the highest honour given by

Posted On Sep 25 2019 by

first_img Want the best of The Telegraph direct to your email and WhatsApp? Sign up to our free twice-daily  Front Page newsletter and new  audio briefings. Joanna Lumley is due to be rewarded for her years of entertaining the world with her work in television.She is going to be given the prestigious Bafta Fellowship at an awards ceremony on the 14th May. Mrs Lumley will be honoured at the Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards at the Royal Festival Hall.The Fellowship is given once a year and is the highest accolade bestowed by Bafta upon an individual.The award recognises an outstanding and exceptional contribution to film, television or games across their career.  Joanna Lumley OBE said: “Nothing could make me prouder or happier than being awarded this phenomenal honour. To be counted amongst the greatest talents and stars of our industry is an awesome gift: the BAFTA Fellowship is the grandest and most unexpected prize I have ever had the joy of receiving.” The 71-year-old actress has a career spanning 40 years, and she is as lively and hard-working as ever.She has already been given six Bafta nominations and two awards for Comedy Performance (1995) and Light Entertainment Performance (1993).Jane Lush, Chair of BAFTA, said: “From high-kicking her way into our hearts as Purdey in The New Avengers to showcasing her enviable comedic credentials with her portrayal of Patsy Stone in Absolutely Fabulous, Joanna Lumley is a true icon of television, and so I am truly delighted that BAFTA will be honouring her with Fellowship this year, the highest honour that the Academy bestows.”Others who have been given the award for their work in television include Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders, along with Jon Snow, Bruce Forsyth, Melvyn Bragg, Michael Palin, Trevor MacDonald, David Attenborough and Julie Walters.last_img

Last Updated on: September 25th, 2019 at 8:06 am, by

Written by admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *