Marineland cleared of all charges by OSPCA

Posted On Oct 7 2019 by

All animal cruelty charges laid against Marineland by the OSPCA have been dropped.According to the Canadian Press, prosecutors said there was no reasonable chance of conviction on most of the 11 counts. The Crown could have proceeded on three of the charges but did not believe it was is in the public’s interest to do so.The OSPCA launched an animal cruelty investigation against Marineland last November after receiving a complaint.An initial investigation charged the Niagara Falls tourist attraction with five counts of animal cruelty with regards to the treatment of peacocks, guinea hens and black bears.In January, six more charges were laid in connection with the handling of elk, red deer and fallow deer.Following the laying of the charges, Marineland denied all allegations saying the complaint came from a former employee. read more

IHF Super Globe 2011 in Qatar

Posted On Sep 22 2019 by

← Previous Story Mirko Alilović ready for MKB Veszprem? Next Story → Jonas Larholm stays in Aalborg IHF Super Globe tournament After the successful IHF Super Globe tournament in 2010, the Al Sadd Club (QAT) will organize the “World Championship for Club Teams” on behalf of the IHF again. The fifth edition of the IHF Super Globe is planned to take place in Doha, Qatar from 14 to 18 May 2011.Other than 2010, when six teams competed for the title, now eight clubs from all continents will play for the trophy in two Preliminary Round groups with four teams each.The first stage is directly followed by the matches for Gold, Bronze and the places 5/6 and 7/8.In addition to hosts Al Sadd (QAT), IHF Super Globe title defenders Renovalia Ciudad Real (ESP) and the reigning VELUX EHF Men’s Champions League winners THW Kiel (GER) have already qualified for this year’s edition.Furthermore the continental champions from Asia, Africa, Pan-America and Oceania will participate. The eighth club will be another team from hosting nation Qatar (wild card owner).Previous IHF Super Globe winners 1997 in Vienna, Austria: Teka Santander (ESP) 2002 in Doha, Qatar: Al Sadd (QAT) 2007 in Cairo, Egypt: Ciudad Real (ESP) 2010 in Doha, Qatar: Ciudad Real (ESP) read more